3 years later…

I forgot about this blog until I got an email saying someone’s commented. Just spent the last 30 minutes at work rereading old posts… wow. I have come a long way. I was in my early 20s writing those posts and now I’m entering my late 20s. Where does the friggin time go!?

I suppose any reader here is to have answers for their skin so I’ll cut to the chase.

I have not had a perioral dermatitis flare up since 2015. Or maybe I have flared up but they’ve been so small (I’m talking several red bumps) that I haven’t been self conscious about my skin. Something weird did happen to my skin for 3 weeks though in June when my perioral area just started flaking like crazy. It was SO embarrassing. I think it was because I was using this glycolic night serum and I was out in the sun? Either way… that was the worst my skin has been in a few years and because it’s been so long, it’s like all my product knowledge went out the window. I forgot about Egyptian Magic, I forgot about Selsun Blue, I forgot about Cerave. The moment I started using Egyptian Magic my flakiness stopped. I use it every night now after I shower and my face is all clean. I let it absorb and then I do my full night time routine!

I honestly don’t know why it hasn’t flared up as bad as it did in 2015… I’m much more liberal with products and exfoliation now. It’s not like I changed anything about my diet. If anything, it’s gotten even more wild. I went off birth control but that didn’t affect my PD. I use fancier, scented products. Whatever the reason, I’m really glad it hasn’t gotten as bad as it used to be.

My skin right now is by no means flawless. Just because I don’t have perioral dermatits does not mean I don’t have other shit going on my face 😦 I’m really bad at not picking at my skin or poking and prodding. I recently got one of those magnified mirrors and my goodness… this is the bane of my existence. I can literally stare into the soul of every single one of my pores and poke the heck out of them. As a result, I go to bed with red spots all over, and I wake up with red spots (and scabs if I’m lucky it healed overnight). IT’S BAD. DON’T DO THIS. However, after I poke and prod my skin, I usually put Polysporin on the spots and pray it heals my self inflicted wounds overnight. Once the Polysporin absorbs, I’ll use zinc cream and use that as a spot treatment. This is a really helpful tip to all those that pop their own pimples. 

Since rereading my own posts, I’ve been reminded of ProSkin Eczema by Mama Nature and guess who just ordered it on Amazon!? I’m excited to use this when it arrives. Hopefully it’ll fix my sometimes flakey, sometimes rashy perioral area.

My nighttime skincare regiment these days:

  • wash my face with Oxy Emergency Acne Cleanser
  • mask my face with Oxy Triple Action Acne Cleanser
  • wipe my skin with Oxy Triple Action pads
  • use a serum (any serum or oil)
  • add a layer of Egyptian Magic
  • let that absorb a bit
  • add a layer of Cerave

My daytime skincare regiment:

  • wipe my skin with Oxy Triple Action pads
  • use a serum
  • use Embryolisse Lait Creme Concentrate

Let me know if you have any good skin tips to share in the comments!

xo,teets

Leave a comment