MY SUCCESS STORY: Defeating Perioral Dermatitis

This entry is to hopefully help someone else out there diagnosed with Perioral Dermatitis. If you don’t know what that is, google it. Voila! Read on if you want to find out how to avoid taking antibiotics to “cure” (read: suppress your symptoms until the next inevitable flare up) your PD.

From what I’ve read the past two weeks on forums on Perioral Dermatitis, there is a common link between the source of outbreaks: switching to different products, or using hydrocortisone/steroid cream on your face. The corners under my nose have always been a little red but I thought that was genetics since my grandfather had rosacea, and my mother has rosacea. Went to see my family doctor about it and she prescribed me “Elocom” to use as a multipurpose miracle ointment on anything that’s suspicious: itchy, rashy, red, bumpy <– you get the idea (so… so…. pretty). This cream did the trick, as do all ointments with steroid/hydrocortisone/all those medical ingredients usually do. These actually suppress your immune system (read: make it weaker and further unable to handle shit on their own) (read further: dependent on the product) to diminish the symptoms. Anyway, for the next few years, I used this on my face, on my body, and even advocated it to my friends and family to use it if their skin didn’t look right.

Timeline

November, 2012. F…M…L. My first flare up. I had no idea what it was! There was a new fad with Clarisonic, and I didn’t know my skin couldn’t handle that kind of exfoliation (I still never fully learnt that my skin can’t handle this kind of exfoliation, bless those girls with skin that can tolerate it, until literally 2 weeks ago) (took me years to learn my lesson) so obviously me being product/OCD queen, the tiniest bump on my chin I Clarisonic’d the shit out of it. Then I coated it with Elocom. (HUGE FUCKING MISTAKE!) The area around my mouth (hence, why it’s called perioral) was red and bumpy. Not only that, I was stressed out with exams and eating really badly in university that I was breaking out on my T-Zone as well. I was not pretty. NOT PRETTY AT ALL. I would do a clay mask every night, and soak the affected areas every night in green tea, stopped exfoliating, then coated the area every night in Elocom and moisturizer. During the day, I covered my face in foundation (I never wear foundation) and concealer but it only exacerbated all the flaws on my face more 😦 it did not help that the lighting in the library was like fluorescent so it made everything even more HD. Self confidence was at an all time low. I felt bad for anyone who had to look at me while we spoke, and felt even worse that they were actively trying to maintain eye contact instead of looking at whatever the fucking shit was going on with my lower face. Thank god it was the end of the semester, and my family and I were going to Mexico for the winter holidays.

Over the next two weeks, after lots of sunshine and some home cooking, my skin looked back to normal and felt as good as new (THANK FRICKIN GOD because I had to go back to school and be social). The tan covered all the redness, and the salt water in the ocean probably dried up the bumps and whatever it was – it left. When my tan started to fade, the redness under my nose sort of came back. But no biggie, back to my old routine. I put concealer on it and it was fine. I would use Elocom on it again just to hope to treat it once and for all. I didn’t have another flare up until May 2014.

May, 2014. Fuck. Once again, I over did it on the exfoliation. I love to sauna, so I did that. Then scrubbed my face. I just wanted to really clean my pores you know. Just like that – outbreak. (The moral of the story is – steroids and hydrocortisone really messed with my skins natural ability to withstand exfoliation. It made it super susceptible to little, unpredictable irritations). Shitty thing is, I’ve done that many, many times before. I have a sauna at home so I would always do that to detox and exfoliate my face just because… impurities n shit u know. Since this 2nd outbreak happened while I was on vacation, it was harder to deal with. I had a limited amount of products with me, and no access to medical help or anything. Also ran out of Elocom. Went to a pharmacy and bought hydrocortisone the OTC kind. Finally got back home but didn’t think to go to a dermatologist. Instead, went to see my family doctor again. She told me I had rosacea. Prescribed me Metrogel. Made it worse -_-. Went to see another family doctor for a 2nd opinion. He diagnosed me with rosacea again! I was in disbelief. No way this was rosacea. I was desperate to figure out what it was. Finally splurged and went to see a dermatologist.

She took one look at me and said I have Perioral dermatitis. Prescribed me 6 weeks of Minocycline (an antibiotic to treat acne vulgaris) and made me buy her Hexam face wash and moisturizer. I was desperate to treat it so I hopped on that medicine train real fast. Except I was going on a Euro grad trip with my friends for a month, so my treatment went into my vacation as well. The takeaway here is that I was exposed to the sun every time my flare ups were treated (although when on Minocycline, you’re not supposed to be exposed under the sun. Oops…) I tanned like a mofo every day. I was sure it would work like my last outbreak. It sure did the work at covering the redness faster than if I were pale – but also made it harder to determine whether or not I was actually healing, or the tan covered up the redness. I also drank a lot (alcohol) while on this medication. Oops again. After my vacation, I came back and followed up with the dermatologist and she gave me the go ahead that it’s cleared. I asked if I could have the Minocycline prescription incase something like this happened again, and she said it’s very rare that it comes back. Alright doc. Took the extra prescription any way. Not worth paying $$$ just to get the same treatment next time.

March, 2015. Still not learning my lesson, I kept overexfoliating my skin, and putting hydrocortisone and Elocom on my skin whenever something was off. I thought the red patch on my chin was a result of my boyfriend’s beard. So I would use those ointments religiously, reverting to my old ways. It did not clear anything up – just kinda kept the bumps sort of flat. I had this patchy red area on my chin for a good few months. All it took was one time of using Clarisonic again, and boom. Bad news bears. The shady thing is that you never know when you’ll have a flare up. I’ve used Clarisonic many times in between flare ups and it was never directly linked. This time was bad. I was over it. My flare up occurred while I was on antibiotics for a UTI (my health sounds beautiful up until this point) so I didn’t want to refill my Minocycline prescription without giving my body a break. Except for the 2 weeks my skin was just so bad! I had to work everyday, meaning I had to cover my face in make up. I didn’t want to, but I had to.

This time, I turned to the interwebs for help. I wanted to find a quick fix without involving another 6 weeks of antibiotics that would further damage my health and immune system. Everything I read lead to one conclusion: antibiotics seems to be the only thing that would clear anyone’s PD.

*things I’ve tried based on recommendations I’ve gathered from forums:

Desitin: I think perioral dermatitis is linked with some sort of fungal thing? Gross. Basically PD is a combination of rosacea, eczema and acne. The worst 3 things grouped into one. So people recommend diaper rash cream to get rid of the eczema as zinc is a huge help to rashes. It was more like wishful thinking because I thought it looked better but it ended up drying out my skin and making it flakey, and was just ineffective.

Rodan and Fields Soothe Regimen: spent over $200+ on this treatment and thank god for their 60 days refund period because I’m refunding it. While I’m sure it’s great for some people, it doesn’t get rid of the bumpy and extreme redness on my face.

Zinc supplements: I have zinc and vitamin C lozenges. I mean, it doesn’t really help but it’s still healthy right?

Switching toothpaste and going SLS free: I couldn’t allow myself to make this switch. I love my products too much, and I need to feel that clean feeling after brushing your teeth with real toothpaste.

Nothing helped. I didn’t want to spend more money, and I was too scared to use apple cider vinegar like people recommend. Or coconut oil, because I read on some girls blog that coconut oil is one of those treatments that make it worse before it gets better. I was too lazy to do the yogurt mask thing. And I did not want to wash my face with anti-dandruff shampoo or put athletes foot cream on my face. One morning I woke up, my face was super dry, red, bumpy, flaky… I was defeated and fed up.

When my dearest mother saw how frustrated I was, she felt helpless. She reached out to all her friends and her friends dermatologist friends for advice without naming what my diagnosis was. She bought me Cerave moisturizing cream. That seemed to make my skin a little better and less dry, except it’s a horrible make up base. It basically flakes off because the cream itself is quite thick so applying make up on it was hopeless. Then she had a brilliant idea. When I was younger, I sought skin help with Chinese Medicine all the time – the herbal medicine that tasted super bitter and gross. So she took me to see a Chinese doctor – the kind you would find in Chinatown. This person was renowned apparently for curing skin diseases. She took one look at me and knew what it was (although she still translated Perioral Dermatitis to Chinese just to make sure she wouldn’t mistreat me). She was like a miracle worker. She asked me things like if I had lost my appetite, if my head felt heavier than usual, if the texture inside my mouth was “rougher” than normal, etc. Wrote a lengthy prescription of herbs for my mother to make me at home. Of course, she advised me to cut out seafood, alcohol, dairy, cheese, chips, anything fried, red meat, out of my diet for the next few weeks. Aka everything I live and die for. And after my first round of medicine, NO JOKE. Bumps went away. She told me to soak my face in the leftover herbal medicine after it’s cooled, and the redness went away. Just to make sure I was being treated as holistically as possible, I also got acupuncture that same day. The acupuncturist took a look at my skin and knew I had to boost my immune system.

I’m writing this post on my 2nd day of drinking her Chinese medicine. And my bumps have gone away, and the redness is rapidly subsiding. It’s smooth enough for me to put concealer over the redness to mask it. I guess I didn’t really have to tell you all the back story up there. But take away is: I managed to find something that wasn’t antibiotics to cure my Perioral Dermatitis and I hope this helps you! There’s not enough information out there about Chinese Medicine and Perioral dermatitis. She basically targeted the root of the problem with just one look at me.

I wish I was brave enough to publicly post pictures of my before and after. But please take it from me that I truly believe there are better ways out there to treat perioral dermatitis other than antibiotics. All that does is suppress the symptoms, it never clears it because the problem is only looked at from one angle when there’s a million other interactions going on in your body.

Learnt my lesson the hard way. Never ever using those ointments on my face again, and going to do my best to never over exfoliate my skin! Hope this herbal fix is a long term, life long fix. I don’t want to go through this shit ever again.

28 thoughts on “MY SUCCESS STORY: Defeating Perioral Dermatitis

  1. I am currently suffering form PD and have been for about 5 months. Did all the typical things, changed toothpaste, used hydrocortizone cream even got a perscription percentage of it. Then I self diagnosed myself and told my Dr that the cream was making it worse. He then perscribed me Doxycycline, and clindamycin gel to apply topically. However, it is still here. I have only been on the antibiotics for about a week and it is getting better, but I afraid it wont cure it. I was wondering what kind of remedy, herbs you used? I would rather use a more homeopathic remedy than antibiotics. I would really appreciate any info or advice you have.

    Sincerely,
    Another PD sufferer
    Jamie

    Like

    1. Hi Jamie, so sorry to hear about your PD diagnosis. The antibiotics should clear it with another week of taking it. as I mentioned, I was on 6 weeks of minocyclin which freaked me out cause antibiotics aren’t good for anyone especially for a prolonged period. I wouldn’t suggest going on herbal medicine while you’re on antibiotics incase it either exacerbates the bad side effects that either medicine has to offer. What I would do if I were you is keep taking your antibiotics and make sure you finish the prescription. Also cut red meat, fried foods, seafood out of your diet if you are disciplined enough (i wasn’t and am not) And then see an herbal medicine doctor after you’re done antibiotics and explain what it is you had (hopefully and most likey by the end of your antibiotics you’ll be cleared) and they should prescribe you specific herbs/ combo of herbs that help you fix the root of the problem that caused PD in the first place. With antibiotics and PD, I can almost guarantee it’ll come back sooner or later it just depends how you treat your body and skin in between. In the meantime if I were you I would go see an acupuncturist – im talking legitimate ones, and usually they know their stuff if they see that the redness and bumps are concentrated around your perioral area they know that it’s your immune system that’s taken a beating. You might have to revisit the acupuncturist a few times and it’s not instant results but it just helps your internal equilibrium so to speak. Hope this helps!!

      Like

  2. Hi,
    Thank you for sharing your experience with PD. I’ve suffered from a general dermatitis past 10 years (I’m only 24, so I basically lived with the symptoms since I was 14), but the affected areas were limited to my scalp and not my face. I’m also diagnosed with Psoriasis on my back and occasionally behind my ears. As you can imagine, I have a very weak immune system and it has been always a constant struggle, whether the trouble is simply my skin or physical wellness. But both of the skin disorders are usually under control and they never came to a point where I didn’t want to go out and socialize.

    However, this PD showed up about a month ago, mostly around my nose and a bit under my mouth. As usual, I started with the best ointment I got, which has a high content of steroid. At first I thought it was just some sort of blemish or acne break out, since I never had experienced dermatitis on my face. But after intensively using all kinds of steroid creams (which btw works OK with my scalp and psoriasis) for a couple of weeks, I realized this was something new. I did my research and realized this is PD, and now I stumbled upon your article about Chinese herb medicine. I live in Manhattan so I can easily find a Chinese doctor who might be able to help me, but I thought I’d ask you first WHO the lady doctor was (since you mentioned ChinaTown, I thought I’d try finding the exact person if I could, in case you are nyc local). Please let me know, I’m desperate!!

    Like

  3. you wrote an article claiming you have found this remedy yet you didn’t list it?? can you please let me know which herbs were used

    Like

    1. Hey Jennifer, sorry I missed your comment from so long ago. I don’t actually know the herbs she put in it – I guess I should. but she wrote it all in Chinese, and it’s really legit herbal medicine from a chinese doctor so I am not going to be of help. I’ll try to find an old “prescription” and post it though incase you want to bring it to a place to get the ingredients yourself. However – she tweaked the ingredients for my specific situation. She asked me questions related to bloating, gassiness, how my tongue looked, how my mouth felt, was my skin dry, did I have trouble sleeping, etc.

      Like

    2. what i’m trying to say is that herbal medicine, and chinese medicine, isn’t a one size fits all. the different ingredients are prescribed together specifically for the symptoms the person has. and these symptoms that we wouldn’t think were related to Perioral dermatitis are so unique. everyone shows it differently

      Like

  4. Rodan & Fields gave me perioral dermatitis. 8 months later I’m still dealing with it, it’s been a total skin nightmare. I never once had issues with my skin until trying their overpriced products, that like you, I also refunded. I was using Elidel cream that worked for a couple months, but now it’s back and not working.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks! I’ve actually been A LOT better lately, fingers crossed it stays that way! It only took NINE months! I’ve been using Vanicream, it seems to be working. I’ll definitely check out the one you recommended though.

        Like

    1. I came across this because I swear I’ve gotten this from using R&F….I’ve had great skin as far as acne and now it’s having some reaction which I think is perioral dermatitis. I’m sick to my stomach now. :/

      Like

  5. Well, shit! What were the freakin chinese herbs? LMAO!♡
    My derm has prescribed 3mo of minocycline. I’m on my 1st week and it is worse! -I was out in sun and ate spicy food over weekend. Anyone happen to get worse on minocycline, before getting better?

    Like

    1. honestly, my first round of prescribed antibiotics for perioral dermatits worked. i was in europe at that time and was super tan, which actually helped cover the redness after the bumps went away. i would say stick with your course of treatment!!! stay away from spicy foods, stay away from random new creams. try mama nature’s proskin eczema cream (order online). also try spectrogel acne cleanser. use a bit of hydrocortisone when it’s actually irritated. i used a prescribed 1% but i think over the counter offers them too at a lower dosage.

      Like

  6. I’ve had PD for about 3 years now. I’ve been to the doctors countless times and I hear the same thing over again and again. I have had antibiotics, steroids, creams, ointments nothing seems to work at all. The eczema has darkened and it has left me to loose my confidence in talking to people or doing anything that makes me centre of attention. I NEED HELP. I’m starting college soon and I do not want to feel the same I want to gain my confidence and start fresh. Is there anything you can suggest ?

    Like

    1. Hey! Don’t give up. Seriously give Spectrogel and Selsun blue (with selenium sulphide) a try! You might also need to tweak your diet a bit – stay away from red meats because it’s toxic. Don’t exfoliate your skin so you don’t irritate it. Also, look online to order mama nature’s proskin eczema cream. Try these topical solutions first and avoid taking antibiotics for it. It only suppresses the bacteria but you build a natural resistance to it so it becomes ineffective.

      Like

      1. Hello- where did you find the seldom blue? Is this a shampoo or a cream. I have seen others say cream but I can’t seem to find either. Thanks!!

        Like

  7. I want to share my story with you.. First of all I want to apologize for my English as English is not my original language and in case I make any mistakes please understand this.
    I have been suffering from Perioral dermatitis for more than last six months, It started after my GI problems that resolved after one month but after 2 months I started having this red dry rash under my nose on sides and on my chin below the lower lip on both sides, sometimes under my eyes as well. I think I have tried most of the solutions, I have done many types of cleanses, antibiotic therapy, I have taken colloidal silver, I have tried apple cider vinniger. My doctor did IV to cleanse the system, and gave me anti allergy prescription that gave some relief only while taking them. Nothing helped. Colloidal nano silver has helped me just mildly; honey topical application was giving me some relief. Then I just started testing everything on me, because I was so desperate, my face looked awful with no hope of cure. And once I just tried to slice cucumber and place it on my face, the result was awesome, I had immediate relief, the redness reduced and skin was not flaking so much, it started glowing and became hydrated. I added evening primrose oil orally which made a great difference in a positive way; I was taking it 4 to 5 grams a day simultaneously with cucumber masks. however after two weeks still not fully resolved, I added cucumber internally and I ate two to three cucumbers 20- 30 minutes before main meal, and then I was taking whatever my meal was. I had some diet modifications as well according to ayurveda; I avoided heating food and refrigerated food, I ate everything freshly cooked, excluded tomatoes, raw vegetables that are mostly drying and hard to digest, I ate vegetables only cooked and in soups, I ate fruits separately from all the meals, one hour earlier than meal or two hours after it. If you mix fruit with cooked food it causes indigestion. I ate all the grains and I have not excluded any pastry (bread and other flour products), Then I started eating cucumbers, after 4 days of eating cucumbers my dermatitis improved very much, I also started drinking alcohol free hops beer 330ml at evening which is very cooling, do not mix it with meals, it can impair digestion ( if you try to drink it just make sure it is additive free) . and after total 5 days of cucumber diet and 3 days beer, my dermatitis totally gone. Cucumbers also helped me with my constipation, that didn’t seem to be a big problem because I was using food in a way to have a laxative effect however I felt that I still had this problem because without laxatives I was constipated .
    So this is my story, I hope it helps someone who has similar problem. I am totally grateful to cucumbers, evening primrose oil and hops beer, I feel that they did most of the job.

    Like

    1. This is so helpful! I’ve had it for 8 years and now that I am pregnant it is worse than ever. I had a cucumber last night but can’t have the beer as I am pregnant.
      Thank you!
      Any other tips would be great!
      Best, Lara

      Like

  8. California Baby products were my savior for my PD! They don’t have any SLS and they’re organic. I searched all over the Internet for a “cure” and I came across California Baby (after trying MANY other things) and figured it couldn’t hurt to try! That was nine years ago and I haven’t had another flare up since. I use the sensitive skin wash and the calendula cream for moisturizer.

    Like

  9. Just wanted to say that I had this horrible rash, bright red and bumpy from my nose to chin and all around my eyes. Awful! However, selsun blue was a winner. I used a very gentle gel cleanser selsun blue, antifungal cream (this helped a lot too) followed by a 29% zinc oxide cream. It took nearly 3 weeks to settle completely and just until a couple of days ago when I got my mama nature proskin ezcema cream It finally got rid of that last stubborn 5%!! Mine was pretty bad so maybe that’s why it too so long but stick with it and it will go away. Because you are dealing with a mixture of problems you really need multiple things to get rid of it. Best of luck and thank you!!!

    Like

  10. I forgot to add, don’t go crazy with the selsun blue! I was so excited by the instant results I put it on 4-5 times that day and burnt my skin😬 Just be patient!

    Like

  11. You guys! I had perioral dermatitis for over 8 months. Tried everything OTC, natural, prescribed. Read every blog. Finally, I landed on yin yang dermatology.com. Her Chinese herbs cleared my skin within 4 weeks. They aren’t cheap, but it worked! Try a local acupuncturist, or search for one that specializes in herbs, and/or dermatology.

    Like

Leave a comment